Faculty Research Fellows for 2021–2023 announced

The American College of Surgeons (ACS) has awarded four Faculty Research Fellowships for 2021–2023. The fellowship is to assist a surgeon in the establishment of their research program under mentorship with the goal of transitioning to becoming an independent investigator. Each fellowship award is $40,000 per year for each of two years and is supported through the generosity of Fellows, Chapters, and friends of the College.

The award recipients are as follows:

  • Franklin H. Martin, MD, FACS, Faculty Research Fellowship: Donnele Daley, MD, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI. Specialty: Surgical oncology. Research title: Modulation of Immune Development in Pancreatic Cancer by the Gut Microbiome.
  • C. James Carrico, MD, FACS, Faculty Research Fellowship for the Study of Trauma and Critical Care: Joshua Brown, MD, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, PA. Specialty: Trauma/critical care. Research title: Volume Outcome Link in Trauma for Emergency Medical Services (VOLT-EMS).
  • Yinin Hu, MD, University of Maryland, Baltimore. Specialty: Surgical oncology. Research title: Establishing a Preference-based Standard for Health State Valuation in Low-Risk Thyroid Cancer.
  • Gita Mody, MD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Specialty: Thoracic surgery. Research title: Improving Thoracic Surgery Using Electronic Patient-Reported Outcomes (ePROs).

The online application for the Faculty Research Fellowship will reopen in September; visit the ACS website for more details.

Tagged as: , ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store