Emergency Medical Technicians honor Dr. Hoyt with 2020 Norman McSwain PHTLS Leadership Award

David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS

Dr. Hoyt

The National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT) has selected David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS, Executive Director of the American College of Surgeons (ACS), as the recipient of the 2020 Norman McSwain Jr. PHTLS (Pre-Hospital Trauma Life Support program) Leadership Award. This award is bestowed on individuals who, through their actions, demonstrate their leadership and commitment to trauma care excellence. The award was presented at the 2020 World Trauma Symposium, which took place virtually September 14–15. Alexander L. Eastman, MD, MPH, FACS, FAEMS, Senior Medical Officer–Operations, U.S. Department of Homeland Security, and moderator of the symposium, presented the award.

The award honors the legacy of Norman E. McSwain, Jr., MD, FACS, a founder of NAEMT, which developed the PHTLS program in collaboration with the ACS Committee on Trauma. A champion of PHTLS and the NAEMT until he suffered a cerebral bleed in July 2015, his work set the stage for the modern version of Tactical Combat Casualty Care.

Dr. McSwain’s death left the NAEMT and the ACS searching for a path forward that would support his legacy and strengthen the shared mission of working to improve care for all prehospital trauma patients. Dr. Hoyt’s leadership, guidance, and vision helped the two organizations navigate a pathway to this desired outcome.

Tagged as:


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store