2019 Nizar N. Oweida Scholars named

Photo (from left): Dr. Eusebio, Dr. Olmstead, and Dr. Wei

Photo (from left): Dr. Eusebio, Dr. Olmstead, and Dr. Wei

Three surgeons who serve rural or small communities have been selected to receive the American College of Surgeons (ACS) 2019 Nizar N. Oweida, MD, FACS, Scholarships—Christian Eusebio, MD, of Tamuning, Guam; Courtney L. Olmsted, MD, of Morrisville, TN; and Wei Wei, MD, FACS, of Galax, VA.

The 2019 Oweida scholars will attend Clinical Congress 2019 in San Francisco, CA, and address the annual meeting of the Scholarships Committee and the Rural Surgery Forum.

The Oweida Scholarship was established in 1998 in memory of Dr. Oweida, a general surgeon from a small town in western Pennsylvania. The $5,000 award subsidizes attendance at the annual Clinical Congress, or research supporting improved quality of care in a rural setting.

The requirements for the scholarship are available on the ACS website. The application deadline for the 2020 scholarship is March 1, 2020.

Tagged as: ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store