Health Policy Scholars for 2019 announced

Eighteen surgeons are attending the Leadership Program in Health Policy and Management presented by the Heller School of Brandeis University, Waltham, MA, in June 2019 as Health Policy Scholars. Each scholarship includes participation in the weeklong intensive course, followed by a year’s service in a health policy-related capacity for the American College of Surgeons (ACS) and the surgical specialty society cosponsoring the awardee.

This year’s scholars are as follows:

  • ACS Health Policy Scholar for General Surgery: Vance Young Sohn, MD, FACS, Madigan Army Medical Center, Tacoma, WA
  • ACS Health Policy Scholar for General Surgery: Brian R. Davis, MD, FACS, FASGE, Texas Tech Paul L. Foster School of Medicine, El Paso
  • ACS/Americas Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Association Health Policy Scholar: Daniel A. Anaya, MD, FACS, Moffitt Cancer Center, Tampa, FL
  • ACS/American Association of Neurological Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Debraj Mukherjee, MD, MPH, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center, Baltimore, MD
  • ACS/American Academy of Otolaryngology–Head & Neck Surgery Health Policy Scholar: Lance A. Manning, MD, FACS, Ear, Nose and Throat Center of the Ozarks, Springdale, AR
  • ACS/American Association for the Surgery of Trauma Health Policy Scholar: Kristan Lea Staudenmayer, MD, FACS, Stanford University, CA
  • ACS/American Pediatric Surgery Association Health Policy Scholar: Jeffrey R. Lukish, MD, FACS, FAAP, Children’s National Medical Center, Washington, DC
  • ACS/American Surgical Association Health Policy Scholar: Stacy A. Brethauer, MD, FACS, The Cleveland Clinic Foundation, OH
  • ACS/American Society of Breast Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Oluwadamilola Fayanju, MD, MA, MPH, Duke University School of Medicine, Durham, NC
  • ACS/American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Rohini McKee, MD, MPH, FACS, FASCRS, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque
  • ACS/American Society of Plastic Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Michele Manahan, MD, FACS, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD
  • ACS/American Urogynecologic Society Health Policy Scholar: Kris Strohbehn, MD, FACS, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Lebanon, NH
  • ACS/American Urological Association Health Policy Scholar: Elizabeth T. Brown, MD, Georgetown University, Washington, DC
  • ACS/Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma Health Policy Scholar: Bryce Robinson, MD, FACS, University of Washington, Seattle
  • ACS/New England Society of Surgery Health Policy Scholar: Jacqueline J. Wu, MD, FACS, University of Massachusetts Medical School-Baystate, Springfield
  • ACS/Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract Health Policy Scholar: Sam S. Yoon, MD, FACS, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY
  • ACS/The Society of Thoracic Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Keith D. Mortman, MD, FACS, FCCP, George Washington University School of Medicine & Health Sciences, Washington, DC
  • ACS/Society for Vascular Surgery Health Policy Scholar: Yazan Duwayri, MD, FACS, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, GA

Tagged as: ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store