Health Policy Scholars for 2017 selected

A total of 18 surgeons have been selected to serve as Health Policy Scholars and participate in the Leadership Program in Health Policy and Management, June 4–10, presented by the Heller School of Brandeis University, Waltham, MA.

Each scholarship includes attendance in the weeklong intensive course, followed by a year’s service in a health policy-related capacity to the American College of Surgeons (ACS) and the surgical specialty society cosponsoring the awardee.

This year’s scholars are as follow:

  • ACS Health Policy Scholar for General Surgery: Aurora D. Pryor, MD, FACS, Stony Brook University, NY
  • ACS Health Policy Scholar for General Surgery: Christopher Steffes, MD, FACS, Henry Ford Health System, Detroit, MI
  • ACS/Americas Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Association Health Policy Scholar: Charles B. Rosen, MD, FACS, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
  • ACS/American Association of Neurological Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Bharat
    Guthikonda, MD, Louisiana State University, Shreveport
  • ACS/American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery Health Policy Scholar: Gavin Setzen, MB, BCh, FACS, Albany ENT & Allergy Services, NY
  • ACS/American Association for the Surgery of Trauma Health Policy Scholar: Christopher P. Michetti, MD, FACS, Inova Fairfax Hospital, Falls Church, VA
  • ACS/American Pediatric Surgery Association Health Policy Scholar: Shawn St. Peter, MD, FACS, Children’s Mercy Hospital, Kansas City, MO
  • ACS/American Surgical Association Health Policy Scholar: Lillian Kao, MD, MS, FACS, University of Texas, Houston
  • ACS/American Society of Breast Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Rachel Adams Greenup, MD, MPH, Duke University, Durham, NC
  • ACS/American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: V. Liana Tsikitis, MD, MCR, FACS, FASCRS, Oregon Health & Science University, Portland
  • ACS/American Society of Plastic Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Kant Y. K. Lin, MD, FACS, University of Virginia, Charlottesville
  • ACS/American Urogynecologic Society Health Policy Scholar: Elisabeth D. Erekson, MD, MPH, FACS, FACOG, The Dartmouth Institute, Lebanon, NH
  • ACS/American Urological Association Health Policy Scholar: James M. Dupree, MD, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  • ACS/Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma Health Policy Scholar: Tanya L. Zakrison, MD, MPH, FACS, FRCSC, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, FL
  • ACS/New England Society of Surgery Health Policy Scholar: Alik Farber, MD, FACS, Boston University School of Medicine, MA
  • ACS/Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract Health Policy Scholar: Francis Cannizzo, Jr., MD, FACS, Western Connecticut Health Network, Danbury
  • ACS/The Society of Thoracic Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: James R. Headrick, MD, MBA, FACS, University of Tennessee, Chattanooga
  • ACS/Society for Vascular Surgery Health Policy Scholar: Francesco A. Aiello, MD, FACS, University of Massachusetts, Worcester

Tagged as: ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store