Faculty Research Fellows for 2017–2019 announced

The American College of Surgeons (ACS) has awarded five Faculty Research Fellowships for 2017. These two-year fellowships are offered to surgeons entering careers in general surgery or a surgical speciality and carry awards of $40,000 per year from July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019. Faculty Research Fellowships are sponsored by the ACS Foundation’s Scholarship Endowment Fund.

Named Fellowships

The ACS offers three Faculty Research Fellowships that recognize ACS leaders. The Franklin H. Martin, MD, FACS, Faculty Research Fellowship of the ACS honors the founder of the College. The C. James Carrico, MD, FACS, Faculty Research Fellowship for the Study of Trauma and Critical Care honors the late Dr. Carrico. The Thomas R. Russell, MD, FACS, Faculty Research Fellowship is made possible through the Thomas R. Russell Fund and supports research aimed at improving surgical outcomes.

The recipients of these fellowships are as follow:

  • Franklin H. Martin, MD, FACS, Faculty Research Fellow: Jesse J. Smith, MD, assistant attending surgeon, colorectal service, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY. Specialty: Surgical oncology. Research project: Defining the Role of SMAD4 in Rectal Cancer Using Primary 3D Tumoroid Cultures and a Novel Endoluminal Tumor Model.
  • C. James Carrico, MD, FACS, Faculty Research Fellow: Robert T. Russell, MD, FACS, assistant professor, division of pediatric surgery, Children’s Hospital, University of Alabama, Birmingham. Specialty: Pediatrics, trauma. Research project: Coagulation Abnormalities after Severe Pediatric Trauma: Bench to Bedside.
  • Thomas R. Russell, MD, FACS, Faculty Research Fellow: Pasithorn A. Suwanabol, MD, assistant professor, division of colorectal surgery, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. Specialty: General surgery. Research project: Earlier Introductions to Palliative Care in Older Adults Undergoing High-Risk Surgery.

Undesignated fellowships

Additional undesignated Faculty Research Fellowships for 2017–2019 were awarded to the following surgeons:

  • David D. Odell, MD, assistant professor, division of thoracic surgery, Northwestern University, Chicago, IL. Specialty: Cardiothoracic surgery. Research project: A Learning Collaborative Model for the Study of Lung Cancer Care.
  • Sam C-K Wang, MD, assistant professor, department of surgery, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas. Specialty: Gastrointestinal surgery. Research project: Cell Type Specific ARID1A Loss Determines PDAC Precursor Identity.

Applying for and supporting fellowships

An updated description and requirements for this program will be posted to the Scholarships web page. The application deadline for the 2018 Faculty Research Fellowships is November 1, 2017.

The Scholarship Endowment Fund was established to provide income for scholarships and fellowships awarded by the ACS Board of Regents. Direct contributions to support the Scholarship Endowment Fund are welcome. Fellows who would like to make tax-deductible gifts to fund these vital programs are encouraged to contact the ACS Foundation at 312-202-5338.

Tagged as: , ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store