New Regents and Governors elected

Two new members of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) Board of Regents, Anthony Atala, MD, FACS, and Fabrizio Michelassi, MD, FACS, were elected at the Annual Business Meeting of Members, October 19, in Washington, DC. In addition, new Board of Governors (B/G) Committee members have been elected.


Dr. Atala

Dr. Atala

Dr. Atala is director, Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine, and W. Boyce Professor and Chair, department of urology, Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, Winston-Salem, NC.  Dr. Atala is a practicing surgeon and researcher in regenerative medicine. His groundbreaking, award-winning work has focused on growing human cells, tissues, and organs, as well as advances in three-dimensional printing.

A Fellow of the College since 1996, Dr. Atala has served in several leadership positions in the ACS, including ACS Governor (2008−2014) and Chair, Advisory Council for Urology (2011−2015). Before chairing the Advisory Council, Dr. Atala was a member of the panel (2001−2011). He also has served on the Program Committee (2007−2011), the Surgical Research Committee (member, 2006−2011; Executive Committee, 2011−2014), the Scientific Forum Committee (2002−2007), the Advisory Council Chairs (2011−2015), and the B/G Committee to Study the Fiscal Affairs of the College (2009−2014).

Dr. Michelassi

Dr. Michelassi

Dr. Michelassi is the Lewis Atterbury Stimson Professor and Chair, Weill Cornell Medicine, and surgeon-in-chief, New York-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medicine, New York, NY. Dr. Michelassi is a renowned gastrointestinal surgeon with expertise in the surgical treatment of gastrointestinal and pancreatic cancers, as well as inflammatory bowel disease, such as Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis.

An ACS Fellow since 1987, Dr. Michelassi has held several leadership positions in the organization. Most recently, he was Chair of the B/G (2014−2016, member 2010−2014). As a Governor, he served on the B/G Committee on Surgical Infections (2011−2013), the Committee on Socioeconomic Issues (2011), and the Ad Hoc Committee to Restructure the B/G Committees (2012−2013). He also has served on the International Relations Committee (2003−2009, Vice-Chair, 2007−2009; Chair, 2009−2011; Consultant, 2011−2013); Committee on Chapter Relations (2007−2011); Advisory Council Program Representatives (Co-Chair, 2007−2013); Committee on Video-Based Education (1992−2002); Advisory Council for General Surgery (member, 2003−2013; Vice-Chair, 2013−2014); Program Committee (member, 2007−2013; Consultant, 2013−2014); Committee on Research and Optimal Patient Care (2014−2015); Bylaws Committee (2014−2015); Advisory Council Chairs (2013−2014); and Member Services Liaison Committee (2013−2016). At present, he serves on the ACS Ethics Committee.

In addition, the following individuals were reappointed to the Board of Regents:

  • Margaret M. Dunn, MD, MBA, FACS, dean of medicine and professor of surgery, Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, Dayton, OH (third term)
  • James W. Gigantelli, MD, FACS, professor and interim chair, department of ophthalmology and visual sciences, University of Nebraska Medical Center, and assistant dean of governmental affairs,  University of Nebraska College of Medicine, Omaha (second term)
  • Michael J. Zinner, MD, FACS, founding chief executive officer and executive medical director, Miami Cancer Institute at Baptist Health South Florida, Coral Gables (third term)

B/G Executive Committee

The B/G elected the following Officers of the Board of Governors Executive Committee:

  • Chair: Diana L. Farmer, MD, FACS, FRCS, a pediatric surgeon, Pearl Stamps Stewart Professor of Surgery, and chair, department of surgery, University of California, Davis, Health System, Sacramento, CA
  • Vice-Chair: Steven C. Stain, MD, FACS, a general surgeon and Henry and Sally Schaffer Chair and Professor, department of surgery, Albany Medical Center, NY
  • Secretary: Susan K. Mosier, MD, MBA, FACS, an ophthalmologist, Secretary, Kansas Department of Health and Environment, and State Health Officer for Kansas, Topeka
Dr. Todd

Dr. Todd

S. Rob Todd, MD, FACS, FCCM, has been selected to serve an initial one-year term on the Executive Committee of the B/G. Dr. Todd is professor and chief, section of acute care surgery, department of surgery, and program director, surgical critical care residency, Baylor College of Medicine; and chief, general surgery, and director, Ginni and Richard Mithoff Trauma Center, Ben Taub Hospital, Houston, TX.

Dr. Gibran

Dr. Gibran

Elected to an initial two-year term on the B/G Executive Committee was Nicole S. Gibran, MD, FACS, David and Nancy Auth-Washington Research Foundation Endowed Chair for Restorative Burn Surgery; professor, department of surgery; director, UW Medicine Regional Burn Center at Harborview Medical Center; and adjunct professor, department of medicine, division of dermatology, University of Washington, Seattle.

Tagged as: ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store