Members in the news

Slide 1

Passing of the gavel to newly installed AAST president Dr. Coimbra (left) from immediate past-AAST president, Grace S. Rozycki, MD, MBA, FACS (Photo: Charla Photography, Kailua-Kona, HI)

Slide 2

Dr. Rotondo

Slide 3

Dr. Corvo

Slide 4

Dr. Jones

Slide 5

Dr. Makaroun

Slide 6

Dr. Rosenthal

Slide 7

Dr. Zundel

Raul Coimbra, MD, PhD, FACS, surgeon-in-chief, and director, trauma center, University of California (UC), San Diego, Medical Center, was installed as president of the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma (AAST) at the September 75th Annual Meeting of the AAST and Clinical Congress of Acute Care Surgery in Waikoloa, HI. Dr. Coimbra is executive vice-chair, department of surgery, and chief, division of trauma, surgical critical care, burns and acute care surgery at the UC San Diego School of Medicine. He is the executive director of the World Coalition for Trauma Care and chair of the Data and Trauma Registry Committee of the Division of Injury of the World Health Organization.

In addition, Michael F. Rotondo, MD, FACS, was elected president-elect at the AAST’s annual business meeting and will assume the AAST presidency at the organization’s 2017 annual meeting in Baltimore, MD.  Dr. Rotondo is chief executive officer, University of Rochester Medical Faculty Group, and vice-dean for Clinical Affairs and a professor of surgery, University of Rochester, NY. He is Medical Director, American College of Surgeons (ACS) Trauma Programs, and Past-Chair of the ACS Committee on Trauma.

Philip R. Corvo, MD, MA, FACS, chairman of surgery and director of surgical critical care, Saint Mary’s Hospital, Waterbury, CT, is the 2016 recipient of the Connecticut State Medical Society Healthcare Leader and Innovator Award. He received the award in recognition of his leadership and commitment to innovative surgical quality initiatives. Dr. Corvo, an American College of Surgeons (ACS) Governor, has held several positions in the Connecticut Chapter, including President. He has supported the ACS through the years as a strategic planner assisting state chapters with health care quality improvement. In addition, Dr. Corvo is president and co-founder, Connecticut Surgical Quality Collaborative, which comprises all 28 acute-care Connecticut hospitals that meet regularly to share outcomes reported to the ACS National Surgical Quality Improvement Program and to discuss successes, best practices, and enhanced recovery after surgery protocols.

Neil F. Jones, MD, FACS, FRCS, was elected 2016 president of the American Society for Surgery of the Hand. Dr. Jones is chief of hand surgery, professor of orthopaedic surgery, and professor of plastic and reconstructive surgery, University of California, Irvine. In addition, Dr. Jones is a consultant in hand surgery and microsurgery at Shriners Hospital Los Angeles and Children’s Hospital of Orange County. Dr. Jones is internationally recognized for his expertise in microsurgical reconstruction of the hand and upper limb and toe-to-hand transfers in children. He is past-president of the American Society for Reconstructive Microsurgery.

Michel S. Makaroun, MD, FACS, was elected vice-president of the Society of Vascular Surgery at the group’s annual meeting this summer in Washington, DC. Dr. Makaroun is ​professor and chief, division of vascular surgery, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, PA.

Two officers of the South Florida Chapter of the ACS have filled leadership positions in domestic and international organizations focused on treating obesity. ACS Governor Raul J. Rosenthal, MD, FACS, FASMBS, President of the ACS South Florida Chapter, was elected 2015–2016 president of the American Society for Bariatric and Metabolic Surgery in New Orleans, LA. Dr. Rosenthal serves as director, general surgery residency program; director, bariatric and [minimally invasive surgery] fellowship program Cleveland Clinic Florida, Weston; and professor of surgery, Herbert Wertheim School of Medicine, Florida International University and Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, Florida Atlantic University, Boca Raton. In addition, Dr. Rosenthal was recently selected for membership in the American Surgical Association.

Natan Zundel, MD, FACS, FASMBS, Secretary/Treasurer of the chapter, presided as 2015–2016 president at the World Federation of Obesity Surgery at the World Bariatric Congress held earlier this year in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Dr. Zundel is clinical professor of surgery and vice-chairman, department of surgery, Herbert Wertheim College, Florida International University, and is medical director, Bariatric and Metabolic Institute, Jackson North Medical Center, Miami. In addition, Dr. Zundel received honorary membership from the Spanish Society for the Surgery of Obesity and Metabolic Disorders in July 2016 and honorary membership from the Chinese Association of Bariatric and Metabolic Surgery.

Tagged as: ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store