Health Policy Scholars for 2016 selected

A total of 17 surgeons have been selected to serve as Health Policy Scholars and participate in the Leadership Program for Health Policy and Management, June 12−18 at the Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Brandeis University, Waltham, MA.

Each scholarship includes attendance at the weeklong intensive course, followed by a year’s service in a health policy-related capacity to the American College of Surgeons (ACS) and the surgical specialty society cosponsoring the awardee.

This year’s scholars are as follows:

  • ACS Health Policy Scholar for General Surgery: Subhasis Misra, MB, BS, MS, FACS, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Medicine, Amarillo
  • ACS Health Policy Scholar for General Surgery: SreyRam Kuy, MD, MHS, Louisiana State University, Shreveport
  • ACS/American Association of Neurological Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Kimon Bekelis, MD, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Lebanon, NH
  • ACS/American Academy of Otolaryngology–Head & Neck Surgery Health Policy Scholar: Alex J. McKinlay, MD, FACS, Darnall Army Medical Center, Fort Hood, TX
  • ACS/American Association for the Surgery of Trauma Health Policy Scholar: Saman Arbabi, MD, FACS, Harborview Medical Center, Seattle, WA
  • ACS/American Pediatric Surgery Association Health Policy Scholar: David P. Bliss, Jr., MD, FACS, Children’s Medical Center, Dallas, TX
  • ACS/American Surgical Association Health Policy Scholar: Eileen M. Bulger, MD, FACS, University of Washington, Seattle
  • ACS/American Society of Breast Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Alyssa D. Throckmorton, MD, FACS, Baptist Medical Group, Nashville, TN
  • ACS/American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Jose G. Guillem, MD, FACS, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY
  • ACS/American Society of Plastic Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Malcolm Z. Roth, MD, FACS, Albany Medical Center, NY
  • ACS/American Urogynecologic Society Health Policy Scholar: Mallika Anand, MD, Spectrum Health Medical Group, Grand Rapids, MI
  • ACS/American Urological Association Health Policy Scholar: Thomas Rechtschaffen, MD, FACS, Advanced Urology Centers of New York, Yonkers
  • ACS/Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma Health Policy Scholar: Alexander L. Eastman, MD, MPH, FACS, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas
  • ACS/New England Society of Surgery Health Policy Scholar: Christopher S. Muratore, MD, FACS, Hasbro Children’s Hospital/Rhode Island Hospital, Providence
  • ACS/Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract Health Policy Scholar: Guilherme Mussi Rocha Campos, MD, FACS, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond
  • ACS/The Society of Thoracic Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Daniel T. Engelman, MD, FACS, Baystate Medical Center, Springfield, MA
  • ACS/Society for Vascular Surgery Health Policy Scholar: Matthew Jay Sideman, MD, FACS, University of Texas Health Sciences Center, San Antonio

Tagged as: ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store