Archive for June, 2015

Dr. Ko

Becker’s Hospital Review names Dr. Ko one of 50 patient safety experts

Clifford Y. Ko, MD, MS, MSHS, FACS, Director, ACS NSQIP and Director, ACS Division of Research and Optimal Patient Care, has been named one of 50 experts leading the field of patient safety in the U.S. by the 2015 Becker’s Hospital Review.

Dr. Ellner with the award

Dr. Ellner receives inaugural Roger Schenke Award from AAPL

The American Association for Physician Leadership presented the inaugural Roger Schenke Award to Scott J. Ellner, DO, MPH, FACS, at its annual meeting April 18.

Ronald M. Stewart, MD, FACS, Chair of the COT (far left), with winning COT paper authors (from left) Drs. Berry, Kollisch-Singule, Nehra, and Langness; Dr. Weireter is on the far right.

2015 Resident Trauma Papers Competition winners announced

The ACS Committee on Trauma announced the winners of the 38th annual Residents Trauma Papers at its Annual Meeting, March 12–14 in Chicago, IL.

Wall Street Journal article features enhanced recovery protocols

Traci Hedrick, MD, FACS—co-author of a study on enhanced recovery protocols for surgical patients published in the February online edition of the Journal of the American College of Surgeons—is interviewed by the Wall Street Journal.

R. Phillip Burns Surgical Society established in Tennessee A large crowd of friends and colleagues were on hand to celebrate the establishment of the R. Phillip Burns Surgical Society February 23 in Chattanooga, TN. This new society recognizes the contributions that Dr. Burns, a Fellow and Past First Vice-President of the ACS, has made to surgical education and provides “a forum for the advancement of surgical training in Tennessee as well as to promote collegiality among surgeons.” Left: Attendees at the inaugural meeting included (from left): Kenneth W. Sharp, MD, FACS, Vanderbilt University Medical Center; Laura E. Witherspoon, MD, FACS, University Surgical Associates, Chattanooga; Dr. Burns, University Surgical Associates; ACS President-Elect J. David Richardson, MD, FACS; and Harold (David) Head, MD, FACS (retired), Signal Mountain, TN.

Chapter news

ACS chapter meetings, events, and award presentations are summarized.

Dr. Chu

2015 Health Policy Scholars announced

A total of 17 surgeons will attend the Leadership Program in Health Policy and Management in June at Brandeis University, Waltham, MA.

Dr. Burt

ACS awards five Faculty Research Fellowships

The recipients of the ACS Faculty Research Fellowships for 2015 are announced.

Dr. Patel

ACS awards six Resident Research Scholarships

The recipients of the ACS Research Research Scholarships for 2015 are announced.


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store