2014 Health Policy Scholars announced

A total of 17 surgeons will attend the Leadership Program in Health Policy and Management at Brandeis University, Waltham, MA, in June. Each 2014 Health Policy Scholar receives funding to participate in the intensive, weeklong course and then is expected to provide a year’s service in a health policy-related capacity to the College and the surgical specialty society cosponsoring the awardee.

The following is a list of this year’s scholars and their cosponsoring society (where applicable):

ACS Health Policy Scholar for General Surgery: Carla C. Braxton, MD, MBA, FACS, Michael E. DeBakey Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Houston, TX

ACS Health Policy Scholar for General Surgery: Mark T. Savarise, MD, FACS, University of Utah, South Jordan

ACS/American Association of Neurological Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Cormac O. Maher, MD, FACS, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

ACS/American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery Health Policy Scholar: James C. Denneny III, MD, FACS, University of Missouri, Columbia

ACS/American Association for the Surgery of Trauma Health Policy Scholar: Randall Friese, MD, MSc, FACS, University of Arizona, Tucson

ACS/American Pediatric Surgery Association Health Policy Scholar: Max R. Langham, Jr., MD, FACS, University of Tennessee College of Medicine, Memphis

ACS/American Surgical Association Health Policy Scholar: Prabhakar K. Baliga, MB, BS, FACS, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston

ACS/American Society of Breast Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Melissa C. Hulvat, MD, FACS, Bass Breast Center, Kalispell Regional Healthcare, MT

ACS/American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Amit Merchea, MD, Mayo Clinic Florida, Jacksonville

ACS/American Society of Plastic Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Lynn Jeffers, MD, FACS, University of Southern California, Los Angeles

ACS/American Urogynecologic Society Health Policy Scholar: Samantha J. Pulliam, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston

ACS/American Urological Association Health Policy Scholar: Timothy D. Averch, MD, FACS, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, PA

ACS/Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma Health Policy Scholar: Jason W. Smith, MD, PhD, FACS, University of Louisville, KY

ACS/New England Surgical Society Health Policy Scholar: David McAneny, MD, FACS, Boston Medical Center, MA

ACS/Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract Health Policy Scholar: Jeffrey M. Hardacre, MD, FACS, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, Cleveland, OH

ACS/Society of Thoracic Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Aaron W. Eckhauser, MD, University of Utah, Salt Lake City

ACS/Society for Vascular Surgery Health Policy Scholar: Eleftherios S. Xenos, MD, PhD, FACS, University of Kentucky Medical Center, Lexington

Tagged as: ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store