2014 international scholars and awardees selected

During the 2013 Clinical Congress, the American College of Surgeons (ACS) Board of Regents approved 12 International Guest Scholarships for 2014. The International Guest Scholarship (IGS) program enables talented young academic surgeons from countries outside of the U.S. and Canada to attend and participate in the Clinical Congress and then tour surgical institutions in North America that offer programs that match their professional interests. The College’s International Relations Committee administers the program.

The 2014 International Guest Scholars are: Fernando Bonilla, MD, Montevideo, Uruguay; Roland S. Croner, MD, FACS, Erlangen, Germany (Murray F. Brennan Scholar); Luke Harper, MD,  La Montagne, Reunion; Huang-Kai Kao, MD, Taoyuan, Taiwan (Louis C. Argenta Scholar); Subodh Kumar, MB, BS, FACS, New Delhi, India; Keishi Sugimachi, MD, PhD, Beppu, Japan (Elias Hanna Scholar); Stephen Tabiri, MD, Tamale, Ghana; Mallika Tewari, MB, BS, MS, Varanasi, India (Dr. Abdol and Mrs. Joan Islami Scholar II); Dezso Tóth, MD, Debrecen, Hungary; Ioannis K. Toumpoulis, MD, Athens, Greece (Stavros Niarchos Foundation Scholar);  Benjamin W. Turney, MB, BChir, Oxford, U.K. (Dr. Abdol and Mrs. Joan Islami Scholar I); and Carl Wahlgren, MD, Stockholm, Sweden.

The requirements for applicants for the 2015 International Guest Scholarships will be published in a future issue of the Bulletin and are posted on the ACS website.

Pellegrini Traveling Fellow

The Carlos Pellegrini Traveling Fellow for 2014 is Jiang-Tao Li, MD, of Hangzhou, China. This related program was created via a grant from the ACS China-Hong Kong Chapter as an IGS-like award designated for a surgeon from China.

Community Surgeons Travel Awards

The Community Surgeons Travel Awards program is now in its third year. It also enables Clinical Congress attendance for international surgeons. This program permits a broader age range for applicants and does not require an academic or research background.

The 2014 Community Surgeons Travel Awardees are: Vivek Bindal, MB, BS, New Delhi, India (Baxiram S. and Kankuben B. Gelot Awardee); Saud Majid Chaudhery, MB, BS, Islamabad, Pakistan; Eyo Effiong Ekpe, MB, BS, Uyo, Nigeria; Yousuf Aziz Khan, MB, BS, Sindh, Pakistan; Haidar M. Muhssein, MB, ChB, Najaf, Iraq; and Ayodeji O. Oladele, MB, ChB, FWACS, Ile-Ife, Nigeria.

Tagged as: ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store