ACS Officers, Regents, and Board of Governors’ Executive Committee


Carlos A. Pellegrini
General surgery

The Henry N. Harkins Professor and Chair, department of surgery, University of Washington, Seattle
Seattle, WA
Layton F. Rikkers
First Vice-President

General surgery
Professor emeritus, University of Wisconsin-Madison; and
Editor-in-Chief, Surgery News
Madison, WI
John T. Preskitt
Second Vice-President
General surgery
Clinical professor of surgery, Texas A&M Health Science Center Baylor campus; director of surgical oncology, Baylor Sammons Cancer Center
Dallas, TX
Edward E. Cornwell III

General surgery

The LaSalle D. Leffall, Jr. Professor and Chairman of Surgery, Howard University College of Medicine; and surgeon-in-chief, Howard University Hospital
Washington, DC
William G. Cioffi, Jr.
General surgery

J. Murray Beardsley Professor and chairman, Alpert Medical School of Brown University; and surgeon-in-chief, Rhode Island Hospital and The Miriam Hospital
Providence, RI
Andrew L. Warshaw

General surgery

W. Gerald Austen Professor of Surgery, Harvard Medical School; and senior consultant, international and regional clinical relations, Massachusetts General Hospital and Partners HealthCare
Boston, MA
Jay L. Grosfeld
First Vice-President-Elect
Pediatric surgery
Lafayette F. Page Professor Emeritus of Pediatric Surgery, Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis
Indianapolis, IN
Kenneth L. Mattox
Second Vice-President-Elect

General surgery
Distinguished Service Professor, Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery, Baylor College of Medicine; and chief of staff and chief of surgery, Ben Taub General Hospital
Houston, TX

Board of Regents

Julie A. Freischlag

Vascular surgery

William Stewart Halsted Professor and surgeon-in-chief, The Johns Hopkins Hospital
Baltimore, MD
Mark C. Weissler
Joseph P. Riddle Distinguished Professor of Otolaryngology, professor of otolaryngology–head and neck surgery, and professor and chief of head and neck oncology, University of North Carolina Neurosciences Hospital
Chapel Hill, NC
John L.D. Atkinson
Neurological surgery
Professor of neurosurgery, department of neurological surgery, Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN
Margaret M. Dunn
General surgery
Professor of surgery and executive associate dean, Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine; and chief executive officer, Wright State Physicians
Dayton, OH
James K. Elsey
General and vascular surgery
Private practice, Atlanta, GA; visiting professor of surgery, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta
Atlanta, GA
Henri R. Ford
Pediatric surgery
Vice-president and surgeon-in-chief, Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles; vice-chairman and vice-dean for medical education, Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA
Gerald M. Fried
General surgery
Adair Family Professor and chairman, department of surgery, McGill University; and surgeon-in-chief, McGill University Health Centre Hospitals
Montreal, QC
James W. Gigantelli

Professor of ophthalmology and assistant dean of government relations at the University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha
Omaha, NE
B.J. Hancock
Pediatric surgery
Associate professor, departments of surgery and pediatrics and child health, University of Manitoba; and pediatric surgeon and pediatric interventionist, Children’s Hospital of Winnipeg
Winnipeg, MB
Enrique Hernandez
Gynecology (oncology)
The Abraham Roth Professor and Chair of the department of obstetrics, gynecology and reproductive science; director of the division of gynecologic oncology; and professor of pathology, Temple University
Philadelphia, PA
Lenworth M. Jacobs, Jr.
General surgery
Professor of surgery and chairman, department of traumatology and emergency medicine, University of Connecticut; and director, trauma program, Hartford (CT) Hospital
Hartford, CT
L. Scott Levin
Orthopaedic surgery
Paul B. Magnuson Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery, chair of the department of orthopaedics, and professor of surgery at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, Philadelphia; plastic and reconstructive surgeon, University of Pennsylvania Health System, Philadelphia
Philadelphia, PA
Mark A. Malangoni
General surgery
Associate executive director, American Board of Surgery
Philadelphia, PA
Raymond F. Morgan
Plastic surgery
Milton T. Edgerton Professor and chair, department of plastic surgery, University of Virginia Health Sciences Center
Charlottesville, VA
Leigh A. Neumayer
General surgery
Professor of surgery, University of Utah; Jon and Karen Huntsman Presidential Professor of Cancer Research, Huntsman Cancer Institute; and co-director, Integrated Breast Program, Huntsman Cancer Hospital
Salt Lake City, UT
Valerie W. Rusch
Thoracic surgery
Chief, thoracic service, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center; and professor of surgery, Cornell University Medical College
New York, NY
Marshall Z. Schwartz
Pediatric surgery
Professor of surgery and pediatrics, Drexel University College of Medicine, Temple University School of Medicine; and surgeon-in-chief, St. Christopher’s Hospital for Children Philadelphia
Philadelphia, PA
Howard M. Snyder III
Associate director of pediatric urology, The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia; and professor of urology, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
Philadelphia, PA
Beth H. Sutton
General surgery
Private practice, Wichita Falls, TX; and clinical professor of surgery, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, Dallas
Wichita Falls, TX
Steven D. Wexner
Colorectal surgery
Chair, department of colorectal surgery, Cleveland Clinic Florida; clinical professor of surgery and affiliate dean for clinical education, Florida International University; and affiliate professor and associate dean for academic affairs, Florida Atlantic University in Boca Raton
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Michael J. Zinner
General surgery
Moseley Professor of Surgery, Harvard Medical School; clinical director, Dana-Farber/BWH Cancer Center; and surgeon-in-chief, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Boston, MA

Board of Governors’ Executive Committee

Gary L. Timmerman
Chair, Board of Governors
General surgery
Sanford Surgical Associates
Sioux Falls, SD
Fabrizio Michelassi
Vice-Chair, Board of Governors
General surgery
Lewis Atterbury Stimson Professor, Chairman, department of surgery, Weill Cornell Medical College; and surgeon-in-chief, New York-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center
New York, NY
Lorrie Langdale
Secretary, Board of Governors

General surgery

Professor of surgery, University of Washington; chief, general surgery and director SICU, VA-Puget Sound Health Care System
Seattle, WA

Tagged as: , ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store