Members in the news

Karl Bilimoria, MD, FACS, assistant professor of surgery at Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine and director of the Surgical Outcomes and Quality Improvement Center Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Chicago, IL; and an American College of Surgeons (ACS) Faculty Scholar in the Division of Research and Optimal Patient Care; and H. David Reines, MD, FACS, vice-chair, surgery, Innova Fairfax  Hospital, Falls Church, VA; professor, surgery, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond; and Past-President of and 2013–2014 Governor representing the ACS Metropolitan Washington Chapter, were appointed to the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Quality Indicator Standing Work Group. This group, which held its first meeting September 12, provides feedback to AHRQ regarding refinement of current patient safety and quality, developing new measures, and identifying measures to retire.  The group will focus on the life cycle of AHRQ quality indicators and address general issues related to the measurement cycle.

Richard L. Gamelli, MD, FACS, Maywood, IL, will receive the 2013 Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine’s highest honor, the Stritch Medal, in recognition of his research, patient-centered care, and contributions to medical education. Dr. Gamelli, the Robert J. Freeark Professor of Surgery and director of the burn center at Loyola University Medical Center, and Loyola’s Burn and Shock Trauma Research Institute, is senior vice-president and provost of health sciences at Loyola University. Dr. Gamelli will receive the award November 16 at Loyola’s annual Stritch Awards Dinner at the Field Museum of Natural History in Chicago.

Vijay Mittal, MD, FACS, President of the ACS Michigan Chapter, is one of only 40 scholars to receive a 2013 U.S. Department of State’s Fulbright Distinguished Scholar Award in Teaching and Research.  Dr. Mittal is clinical professor of surgery at Wayne State University School of Medicine, Detroit, MI, and program director of general surgery residency at Providence Hospital and Medical Centers, Southfield, MI.

In his Fulbright proposal, “Global Surgical Education Evaluation and Uniformity,” Dr. Mittal expressed his desire to examine the surgical education system in India and explore the difficulties in transferring medical training and credentials earned in other parts of the world to the North American system, to achieve a level of parity. As a Fulbright Award recipient, Dr. Mittal will spend four months in India over the next year and will visit five major postgraduate institutions and five private hospitals to compare their medical education programs.

Dr. Mittal graduated from Amritsar Medical College in India and completed his surgical residency at the Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education and Research Chandigarh, where, in 1971, he performed the nation’s first kidney transplant.

Donald J. Palmisano, MD, JD, FACS, clinical professor of surgery and medical jurisprudence at Tulane University School of Medicine, New Orleans, LA, received the Tulane Medical Alumni Association Outstanding Medical Alumnus Award 2013, on October 4. A former president of the American Medical Association (2003–2004) and the Louisiana State Medical Society (1984–1985), Dr. Palmisano, the author of two books—On Leadership and the Little Red Book of Leadership Lessons—has testified before Congress many times on medical liability reform, patient safety, antitrust, health system reform, and patient privacy.

Tagged as: , , , , ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store