Dr. Ronald Maier to receive 2013 Sheen Award

Dr. Maier

Ronald V. Maier, MD, FACS, the Jane and Donald D. Trunkey Endowed Chair in Trauma Surgery and vice-chairman, department of surgery, University of Washington (UW) School of Medicine, Seattle, will receive the 2013 Dr. Rodman E. Sheen and Thomas G. Sheen Award, which has been presented annually since 1968 to honor outstanding contributions to the medical profession. Dr. Maier will receive the award during the December 14 annual clinical meeting of the New Jersey American College of Surgeons (ACS) Chapter in Iselin, NJ, and will be the featured speaker at the meeting.

Highly qualified candidate

Dr. Maier is a professor of surgery at the UW School of Medicine. In addition, he is the director of the Northwest Regional Trauma Center and surgeon-in-chief at Harborview Medical Center, the Level I trauma center in Seattle.

Dr. Maier has served as a member of the ACS Committee on Trauma (COT), including as Chief, Region 10, and as Chair of the COT’s Injury Prevention and Control Committee, and currently serves on the Executive Program Committee. He has received numerous honors for his research, teaching, and clinical trauma work, including the John K. Stevenson Award for Teaching Excellence and Dedication to Resident Education (2012), the Scientific Achievement Award from the Shock Society (2004), the Flance-Karl Award from the American Surgical Association (2008), the Lifetime Achievement Award in Trauma Resuscitation from the American Heart Association (2007), the Accreditation Council for General Medical Education’s Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award (2010), and is a member of the Gold Humanism Honors Society. He has been a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science since 1995.

Dr. Maier has presented his work worldwide, delivering more than 300 lectures on trauma, critical care medicine, and surgical immunology. He has contributed to 59 book chapters and more than 300 peer-reviewed articles. He has received continuous support from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) for more than 30 years totaling more than $20 million. In 2012, Dr. Maier and colleagues received NIH funding to study the impact of aging on the immune response to traumatic brain injury, and recently he and his colleagues received a Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute award to perform a randomized control trial of early intervention in the treatment and prevention of post-traumatic stress disorder.

In addition, he has served in a number of leadership positions with national and international medical societies, including as president of the Halsted Society (2011–2012); U.S. chapter of the International Society of Surgery/Société Internationale de Chirurgie (2003–2005); Surgical Infection Society (2002–2003); American Association for the Surgery of Trauma (2000–2002); Shock Society (1993–1994); and Society of University Surgeons (1991–1992). He has served on the Surgery Anesthesia and Trauma Study Section at the NIH, including as Chair from 1995–1997 and is a past director of the American Board of Surgery and chair (2003–2004).

Dr. Maier received his medical degree from Duke University Medical School, Durham, NC, and completed his surgical internship at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, Parkland Memorial Hospital, Dallas. Moving to Seattle with G. Tom Shires, MD, FACS, as chair, he completed a general surgery residency at the UW in 1978. From 1978 through 1981, he completed a two-year post-doctoral research fellowship and was a research associate in immunopathology for one year at Scripps Clinic and Research Foundation in La Jolla, CA.

The Sheen Award

The Sheen Award honors a full-time working physician involved in ongoing and promising teaching and medical research. Philanthropist Thomas G. Sheen, in Atlantic City, NJ, created a perpetual trust “to further the study of medicine and to compensate an outstanding Doctor of Medicine Science in the United States each year.” The award honors the memory of his brother, Rodman E. Sheen, MD, a radiologist and X-ray pioneer who was injured so severely when a Roentgen tube exploded in his research lab that he never was able to return to medical practice. He died at age 47 in 1937. The annual award varies in amount, depending on the earnings of the estate, but since 1999, the award has been $25,000.

Today, the New Jersey-based Sheen Advisory Committee selects the nominees whose names are submitted by the vice-president/trust officer of the Bank of America, N.A. The advisory committee comprises 10 to 12 physicians, half of whom are surgeons, and the other half of whom represent a range of medical specialties. All committee members are from southern New Jersey where the Sheen family lived and worked. S. Stuart Mally, MD, FACS, the 1992 recipient of the ACS Distinguished Service Award, served as the original chair of the committee. A stipulation of the award is that a national medical organization serve as a consultant in the selection process. Since 1982, the ACS Honors Committee has developed the annual list of nominees and recommended candidates.

Nominees for the award must be medical research pioneers doing ongoing work of the highest quality. They must be involved in teaching and research in medicine and not retired or semi-retired, so that the award will be applied to future scientific work.

Tagged as: , , ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store