College accepting nominations for 2014 Jacobson Promising Investigator Award

The American College of Surgeons (ACS) is accepting nominations for the 10th Joan L. and Julius H. Jacobson II Promising Investigator Award to be conferred in 2014. To be considered for the award, submissions must be dated no later than February 28, 2014.

The Jacobson Promising Investigator Award recognizes outstanding surgeons engaged in research, advancing the art and science of surgery and demonstrating early promise of significant contribution to the practice of surgery and the safety of surgical patients. The award is funded through a generous endowment established by the donors and administered by the ACS Surgical Research Committee.

Award criteria

  •  Candidate must be a Fellow or an Associate Fellow of the ACS.
  • Candidate must be board-certified in a surgical specialty and must have completed surgical training in the last six years.
  • Candidate must hold a faculty appointment at a research-based academic medical center or hold a military service position.
  • Only one application per surgical department will be accepted.
  • Candidates must have received peer-reviewed funding such as a K-series award from the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Veterans Administration, National Science Foundation, or U.S. Department of Defense merit review to support their research effort.
  • Nominees must submit a one-page essay to the committee that explains why they should be considered for the award and describes the importance of their past and current research.
  • Nomination documentation must include an NIH-formatted biographical sketch and copies of the candidate’s three most significant publications.
  • Nomination documentation must include a letter of recommendation from the nominee’s department chair.  Up to three additional letters of recommendation will be accepted.

Surgeons who are at the “tipping point” of their research careers with a track record indicative of early promise and potential (such as a degree program in research or K-award) will receive special consideration. Surgeon-scientists who are well-established (such as recipients of NIH R01 grants) are not eligible.

Nomination procedures

Award criteria documentations and nomination materials may be sent electronically to or copied on to a flash drive and mailed to Carla Manosalvas, American College of Surgeons, 633 N. Saint Clair St., Chicago, IL 60611.

Note that essays and biographical sketches must be submitted as Word documents. Applicants are encouraged to verify that all necessary materials have been received before the deadline. For additional information, contact or 312-202-5319.

Tagged as: , ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store