Members in the news

Björn Brücher, MD, PhD, FACS, FRCSEng, was awarded honorary membership in the Israel Society for Surgical Oncology during the association’s biennial conference in February. Professor Brücher specializes in tumor diseases of the gastrointestinal tract, the esophagus, and the stomach, as well as peritoneal carcinomatosis.

Lewis Flint, MD, FACS, Editor-in-Chief of Selected Readings in General Surgery, published by the American College of Surgeon’s (ACS) Division of Education, was elected president of the Southern Surgical Association at its 123rd annual meeting, which took place recently in Hot Springs, VA.

George L. Hicks, MD, FACS, cardiothoracic surgeon and chief of cardiac surgery at the University of Rochester Medical Center, Rochester, NY, received the Socrates Award from the Thoracic Surgery Residents Association during the Society of Thoracic Surgery’s annual meeting. The award is given annually to an outstanding faculty member who demonstrates a remarkable interest in resident training.

Pamela A. Lipsett, MD, FACS, received the 2012 American Medical Women’s Association (AMWA) Women in Science Award at the AMWA’s 97th annual meeting, April 13–15, in Miami, FL. Dr. Lipsett is the Firor Chair of Surgery and professor of surgery at Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore, MD; the immediate past-president of the Society of Critical Care Medicine; and the current president of the Surgical Infection Society.

John M. Morton, MD, MPH, FACS, was honored for excellence during the seventh annual National Physician of the Year Awards, sponsored by Castle Connolly Medical Ltd. Dr. Morton, section chief, minimally invasive surgery; and director, bariatric surgery and surgical quality at Stanford School of Medicine of the Stanford University Medical Center, CA, received the 2012 award at a ceremony in New York, NY, in March.

Leigh Neumayer, MD, FACS, and David Rogers, MD, FACS, each received the Distinguished Educator Award of the Association for Surgical Education (ASE) during the 2012 Surgical Education Week, March 20–24, in San Diego, CA. The award is the most prestigious honor that the ASE bestows on surgical education leaders.

Dr. Neumayer is a professor of surgery, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, and the Jon and Karen Huntsman Presidential Professor of Cancer Research, Huntsman Cancer Institute, also located in Salt Lake City. Dr. Neumayer currently serves on the Board of Regents and is a member of the ACS Finance Committee.

Dr. Rogers is associate professor, division of pediatric surgery, Southern Illinois University, Springfield. A recipient of numerous departmental and institutional teaching awards, Dr. Rogers is a past-president of the ASE. Also at the ASE meeting, Timothy Farrell, MD, FACS; Charles Friel, MD, FACS; and Travis Webb, MD, FACS, received the Philip J. Wolfson Outstanding Teacher Award.

Paul J. Pearson, MD, FACS, was named one of three endowed chairs at NorthShore University HealthSystem, located in four northern suburbs of Chicago, IL. Dr. Pearson, division chief of cardiovascular surgery, was invested as the Owen L. Coon Chair of Cardiothoracic Surgery. Before joining NorthShore, Dr. Pearson practiced thoracic surgery at the Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN, as chief resident associate. Dr. Pearson has developed the Pearson Shunt for use in cardiac surgery, and the Pearson Laryngoscope for use in the prehospital setting.

Tagged as: , , , , , ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store