Fellows in Archives photo identified

The photo above was published in the September 2011 issue of the Bulletin, along with a request for help in identifying the individuals pictured. Susan Rishworth, Archivist at the American College of Surgeons, received responses from the following Fellows: Ronald Jones, MD, FACS; C. John Snyder, MD, FACS; Penfield Faber, MD, FACS; Fred Gau, MD, FACS; Raphael E. Pollock, MD, FACS; Herbert Robb, MD, FACS; Bruce Bacon, MD, FACS; LaMar McGinnis, Jr., MD, FACS; and Charles E. Schoenhals, MD, FACS.

According to these respondents, the photo is of a meeting of the Executive Committee, Committee on Cancer, and was taken in 1959. Pictured from left to right are: James B. Mason (staff); Murray M. Copeland, MD, FACS; Harry Nelson, Sr., MD, FACS; Danley P. Slaughter, MD, FACS, Committee Chair; R. Lee Clark, MD, FACS; Howard Errol Snyder, MD, FACS; Ian McDonald, MD, FACS; and Charles Eckert, MD, FACS.

Tagged as: ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store