Two ACS NSQIP® collaboratives receive AHA Davidson Quality Awards

The American Hospital Association (AHA) presented the Dick Davidson Quality Milestone Award, one of the AHA’s top national awards, to hospital collaboratives in Tennessee and Florida participating in the American College of Surgeons National Surgical Quality Improvement Program (ACS NSQIP). The awards were presented July 25 during the AHA’s annual Leadership Summit in San Diego, CA, in recognition of the collaboratives’ leadership in quality improvement.

In their nomination entries, the Tennessee Hospital Association (THA) and Florida Hospital Association (FHA) cited their states’ ACS NSQIP results as key quality achievements. The THA helps lead the Tennessee Surgical Quality Collaborative (TSQC), the first ACS NSQIP collaborative that is a partnership between a hospital association, health plan, and an ACS local chapter. The 10 Tennessee hospitals participating in TSQC initially reduced complications by 36 percent and saved more than $5 million. The collaborative has now grown to 22 hospitals.

FHA partnered with the ACS to create the Florida Surgical Care Initiative (FSCI), based on four ACS NSQIP measures. The 67 hospitals participating in FSCI reduced complications by 14.5 percent and saved $6.67 million in 15 months. Visit the AHA website for more information about the Davidson Quality Awards.

Tagged as: , , , , ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store