Chapter news – December 2012

Slide 1

Egypt Chapter: Attendees at the first Conference of the Egyptian Chapter of the American College of Surgeons included, from left to right, Samer Mattar, MB, BCh FACS; Dr, Hassan; Dr. Hanna; Dr. Ramzy; Gennady Bratslavsky, MD; Dr. Omar; Sami Mufeed, MD; Dr. Numann; Ahmed Ibrahim, MB, BCh, FACS; Dr. Ismail; Dr. Turner; Dr. Elbanna; Marc Peeters, MD; and Osama Fouad, MB, BCh, FACS.

Slide 2

Michigan Chapter (left to right): Vijay K. Mittal, MD, FACS, President; Kurt A. Kralovich, MD, FACS, Secretary; Dr. Numann; and Gerard M. Doherty, MD, FACS, Immediate Past-President.

Egyptian Chapter presents first conference

The recently established Egyptian Chapter of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) presented its inaugural conference in collaboration with the College September 6–9 at the Sonesta Hotel in Cairo.

Representing the ACS at the meeting were then-President Patricia J. Numann, MD, FACS, and Patricia L. Turner, MD, FACS, Director of the Division of Member Services. The program was chaired by Sherif Omar, MB, BCh, FACS, Egyptian Chapter President; Alaa Ismail, MB, BCh, FACS, ACS Governor; Adel Foad Ramzy, MD, FACS, Senior Advisor; and Mohey Elbanna, MB, BCh, FACS, Secretary/Treasurer.

The program included a presentation by Moustafa Hasan, MB, BCh, FACS, titled Current Guidelines of Trauma and Emergency (Acute Care) Surgery.

Other topics discussed at the conference included the following:

  • Stewardship and modernizing surgical education and training
  • Rural surgery in the U.S. and Egypt
  • Recent trends in minimally invasive and robotic surgery
  • Healthcare advocacy and leadership: Role of Egypt Chapter of the ACS

For more information on the Egyptian Chapter and its inaugural meeting, visit

Michigan Chapter hosts guest lecturers, paper competition

The Michigan Chapter of the American College of Surgeons (MCACS) presented its 59th Annual Meeting and 61st Resident Surgeons Competition May 16–18, at the Park Place Hotel in Traverse City, MI. More than 100 surgeons and surgical residents from throughout the state participated in this year’s event.

The meeting kicked off Wednesday evening with a new Remarkable Cases Reception, during which practicing surgeons, residents, and medical students presented eight unusual cases for roundtable discussion. The event was standing room-only and was so successful that the chapter intends to make it a permanent part of the conference.

Guest speakers at this year’s meeting included:

  • Dr. Numann, who provided an update on College activities and gave a special presentation on the importance of organized medicine
  • Scott Helton, MD, FACS, director of liver and pancreatic surgery and director of the hepato-pancreato-bilary fellowship training program at Virginia Mason Medical Center, Seattle, WA, presented the annual clinical update titled Significance and Management of Major Vessel Involvement in Carcinoma of the Pancreas
  • Donald Jenkins, MD, FACS, consultant, division of trauma, critical care, and general surgery; and associate professor of surgery, Mayo College of Medicine; and medical director, trauma center, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN, gave the 15th Annual “Mo” Henig Trauma Lecture, Military Care of the Wounded.

The following speakers participated in a panel discussion on Crisscrossing the Globe: Trends in Getting Started and Giving Back:

  • Kathleen Casey, MD, FACS, Director, Operation Giving Back, addressed humanitarian outreach among surgeons
  • Timothy Flynn, MD, FACS, senior associate dean for clinical affairs, University of Florida (UF) College of Medicine and chief medical officer for Shands at UF, Gainesville, spoke on surgical workforce issues
  • Timothy Robert B. Johnson, MD, FACS, professor, obstetrics and gynecology, University of Michigan Health System, Ann Arbor, discussed international medical education
  • Gazi B. Zibari, MD, FACS, FICS, academic vice-chair, department of transplantation; professor of surgery, Malcolm Feist Endowed Chair in Transplantation at Louisiana State University (LSU) Health Sciences Center, Shreveport; and director, Willis-Knighton/LSU Health Sciences Center Regional Transplant Program, spoke on two decades of medical charity work in Kurdistan.

Rounding out the program, Ira Kodner, MD, FACS, Solon and Bettie Gershman Professor of Surgery, division of general surgery, section of colon and rectal surgery, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MO, and director, Washington University Center for the Study of Ethics and Human Values, gave the Krishna K. and Pamela E. Sawhney Ethics in Surgery Lecture titled Surgeons and Ethics: You Bet!

A major focus of the annual event is the residents’ paper competition. This year, 67 abstracts were submitted for consideration, and the top 52 were selected for presentation (all abstracts presented are posted at This year’s winners were:

  • Frederick A. Coller Award (First Place Overall): Jasneet Bhullar, MD, Providence Hospital and Medical Centers, Southfield, MI, Effects of Intraluminal Chemotherapy on Colorectal Cancer—Study in an Orthotopic Murine Mode
  • Alexander J. Walt Award (Second Place Overall): Danielle Fritze, MD, University of Michigan, Thrombin Mediates Vagal Apoptosis and Dysfunction in IBD
  • Education Award: Andrea Obi, MD, University of Michigan, Simulation-Based Evaluation of Conflicts between [Accreditation Council on Graduate Medical Education] Restrictions and Adequate Training Opportunities for Cardiothoracic Transplant Surgery
  • Michigan Committee on Trauma Basic Science Award: Abubaker Ali, MD, Wayne State University, Detroit Medical Center, The Stress Hormone Epinephrine Increases IGA Transport across Respiratory Epithelial Surfaces
  • Farouk N. Obeid Clinical Trauma Award: Gerald Wright, MD, Grand Rapids Medical Education and Research Center, MI, The Effect of Splenectomy on Mortality in Blunt Severe Traumatic Brain Injury
  • D. Emerick Szilagyi Michigan Vascular Prize: Sean English, MD, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Increased 18F-FDG Uptake in the Aortic Wall of Beta-Aminopropionitrile Exposed Rats May Be Predictive of AAA Rupture
  • Gift of Life Transplantation Award: David Demos, MD, University of Michigan, Development of an Automated Perfusion System for Organ Procurement and Resuscitation
  • Robert V. Danto Memorial Cancer Research Award: Sha’Shonda Revels, MD, University of Michigan, Racial Disparities in Esophageal Cancer Outcomes.

Lastly, the 2012–2013 Michigan Chapter Council members were elected and installed at the meeting. For a listing of council members, visit the Michigan Chapter website at

Tagged as: , ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Apple Store
Get it on Google Play
Amazon store