2012 Health Policy Scholars announced

Sixteen surgeons received scholarships to attend the May 2012 Leadership Program in Health Policy and Management, held at Brandeis University, Waltham, MA. Each scholarship includes participation in the weeklong intensive course, followed by a year’s service in a health policy-related capacity to the College and the surgical specialty society co-sponsoring the awardee.

American College of Surgeons (ACS) Health Policy Scholar for General Surgery: Michael D. Adolph, MD, FACS, Ohio State University, Columbus

ACS Health Policy Scholar for General Surgery: Janice N. Cormier, MD, MPH, FACS, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX

ACS/American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Health Policy Scholar: Michael J. Brenner, MD, FACS, Southern Illinois University School of Medicine, Springfield

ACS/American Association of Neurological Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Anthony L. Asher, MD, FACS, Carolina Surgery and Spine Associates, Charlotte, NC

ACS/American Association for the Surgery of Trauma Health Policy Scholar: Erik S. Barquist, MD, FACS, Jackson South Community Hospital, Miami, FL

ACS/American Pediatric Surgery Association Health Policy Scholar: Peter W. Dillon, MD, FACS, Penn State Hershey Medical Center, Hershey

ACS/American Surgical Association Health Policy Scholar: Thomas F. Tracy, Jr., MD, FACS, MS, Alpert Medical School, Brown University, Providence, RI

ACS/American Society of Breast Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Michael Alvarado, MD, FACS, University of California, San Francisco

ACS/American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Neil H. Hyman, MD, FACS, University of Vermont College of Medicine, Burlington

ACS/American Society of Plastic Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Robert Havlik, MD, FACS, Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis

ACS/American Urogynecologic Society Health Policy Scholar: Blair Washington, MD, MHA, University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle

ACS/Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma Health Policy Scholar: John J. Como, MD, MPH, FACS, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, Cleveland, OH

CS/New England Society of Surgery Health Policy Scholar: Joel Lafleur, MD, FACS, Penobscot Bay Medical Center–MaineHealth, Rockport

ACS/Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract Health Policy Scholar: Christos A. Galanopoulos, MD, FACS, Renown Regional Medical Center, Reno, NV

ACS/Society of Thoracic Surgeons Health Policy Scholar: Michael J. Davidson, MD, FACS, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA

ACS/Society for Vascular Surgery Health Policy Scholar: Margaret C. Tracci, MD, JD, University of Virginia, Charlottesville

Tagged as: ,


Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair St.
Chicago, IL 60611


Download the Bulletin App

Get it on Google Play